ESPO Awards Nominees

It is now that time NHL fans. Time for the 7th annual ESPO Awards. No its not the ESPY’s or the Oscar’s, it is the ESPO’s. Not too many people know of the ESPO Awards, but listeners to NHL Home Ice on SiriusXM do. 

The ESPO Awards are hosted by Phil Esposito, I believe, and please correct me if I am wrong. They are yearly awards that are held on NHL Home Ice. There are many awards that will be given out to players, coaches and management. This is basically an NHL Awards night that gets to the point and is more fun than serious.

Anyways, enough with the talk, read after the jump for your nominees. Comment for who you think should win! I am not trying to be a homer with my selections.

Gordie Howe Award: MVP

Claude Giroux- Philadelphia Flyers
Evgeni Malkin- Pittsburgh Penguins
Henrik Lundqvist- New York Rangers
Steven Stamkos- Tampa Bay Lightning
Jonathan Quick- Los Angeles Kings

My Winner: Evgeni Malkin

Michel Bergeron Award: Coach of the Season

Paul MacLean- Ottawa Senators
John Torterella- New York Rangers
Kevin Dineen- Florida Panthers
Ken Hitchcock- St. Louis Blues
Barry Trotz- Nashville Predators

My Winner: Ken Hitchcock

Donald Trump Award: Executive of the Season

David Poile- Nashville Predators
Paul Holmgren- Philadelphia Flyers
Dale Tallon- Florida Panthers
Doug Armstrong- St. Louis Blues
Glen Sather- New York Rangers

My Winner: Dale Tallon

Bobby Orr Trophy: Best Defenseman

Shea Weber-Nashville Predators
Erik Karlsson- Ottawa Senators
Alex Pietrangelo- St. Louis Blues
Zdeno Chara- Boston Bruins
Dan Girardi- New York Rangers

My Winner: Shea Weber. Although, I would rather choose Ryan Suter.

Tony Esposito Award: Best Goalie

Pekka Rinne-Nashville Predators
Marc Andre Fleury- Pittsburgh Penguins
Henrik Lundqvist- New York Rangers
Jonathon Quick- Los Angeles Kings
Jaroslav Halak- St. Louis Blues

My Winner: Pekka Rinne. Although, I would rather choose Brian Elliot.

Carl Voss Trophy: Rookie of the Season

Gabriel Landeskog- Colorado Avalanche
Ryan-Nugent Hopkins- Edmonton Oilers
Adam Henrique- New Jersey Devils
Matt Read- Philadelphia Flyers
Justin Falk- Carolina Hurricanes

My Winner: Gabriel Landeskog

Mark Tinordi Award: Most Improved

Ryan O’Reilly- Colorado Avalanche
Brian Elliot- St. Louis Blues
Blake Wheeler- Winnipeg Jets
Max Pacioretty- Montreal Canadiens
James Neal- Pittsburgh Penguins

My Winner: Brian Elliot. The toughest award of them all. 

Butch Goring Trophy: Best Pick-Up

Brad Richards- New York Rangers
Erik Cole- Montreal Canadiens
Michael Ryder- Dallas Stars
Jaromir Jagr- Philadelphia Flyers
Brian Elliot- St. Louis Blues

My Winner: Brian Elliot

Ted Turner Award: Biggest Story

Shanny Era Begins
Rick Nash Trade Saga
Radulov Returns to Nashville
Thomas snubs White House

My Winner: Concussions. In Smashville, Radulov Returns to Nashville. Again, I am not a homer.

Guy Lafleur Trophy: Comeback Player

Filip Kuba- Ottawa Senators
Joffery Lupul- Toronto Maple Leafs
Tomas Flieschmann- Florida Panthers
Evgeni Nabakov- New York Islanders
Sheldon Souray- Dallas Stars

My Winner: Joffery Lupul

Cam Neely Award: Best Power Forward

Ryan Callahan- New York Rangers
David Backes- St. Louis Blues
Scott Hartnell- Philadelphia Flyers
David Clarkson- New Jersey Devils
Milan Lucic- Boston Bruins

My Winner: Ryan Callahan

Rodney Dangerfield Award: The Player That Gets “No Respect”

Marian Hossa- Chicago Blackhawks
Jason Pominville- Buffalo Sabres
Ray Whitney- Phoenix Coyotes
Loui Eriksson- Dallas Stars
Matt Moulson- New York Islanders

My Winner: Marian Hossa

Aggie Kuklowicz Award: The Hardest Name to Pronounce

Harry Zolniercyk- Philadelphia Flyers
David Desharnais- Montreal Canadiens
Alexi Ponikarovsky- New Jersey Devils
Marc-Andre Gragnani- Vancouver Canucks
Aaron Palushaj- Montreal Canadiens

My Winner: Harrry Zolniercyk. Aaron Palushaj comes in a close 2nd.

Mickey Rooney Award: The Best Little Man 

Nathan Gerbe- Buffalo Sabres
Martin St. Louis- Tampa Bay Lightning
Ryan Ellis- Nashville Predators
Kyle Wellwood- Winnipeg Jets
Tyler Ennis- Buffalo Sabres

My Winner: Ryan Ellis. Okay, I had to choose a Predators player there.

Don’t forget to comment by disagreeing or agreeing. Select your own!