How the Predators did on award day(s)

The Nashville Predators did bad, and I mean bad in the 2013 NHL Awards voting. Not one player, coach nor general manager from the organization was a finalist for the award for the first time in years. 

The best finishes for a trophy was David Poile for GM of the year and Shea Weber for the Norris Trophy–best defenseman. Poile finished in eighth with one first place vote. The captain also was awarded seventh runner-up with a second place, four third place, six fourth place and seven fifth place votes. 

In the running for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, given to the player who best exemplifies sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct, Mike Fisher and Kevin Klein received votes. I don't know how Rich Clune didn't get a vote since he exhibits perfect conduct on the ice. (Right….)

Fisher and Klein both tied for 56th place–solid–with a fourth place vote a piece.

Certainly, the Predators didn't deserve to win an award, but it was shocking to see them do so bad. Pekka Rinne didn't even break the top ten for Vezina, which isn't totally surprising, but he is still one of the three best goaltenders in the league (Lundqvist, Quick and Rinne).

Oh well, we didn't want to win an award anyway! So the jokes on you Professional Hockey Writers Association! Ha-ha-ha!