Preds announce opening night roster

The Nashville Predators announced the opening night roster for Thursday's road game against the St. Louis Blues after assigning newly-acquired forward Simon Moser to the Milwaukee Admirals. Below is the roster heading into the Scottrade Center.

Forwards (13): Gabriel Bourque, Rich Clune, Matt Cullen, Mike Fisher, Filip Forsberg, Paul Gaustad, Matt Hendricks, Patric Hornqvist, David Legwand, Eric Nystrom, Craig Smith, Nick Spaling and Colin Wilson.

Defensemen (7): Victor Bartley, Mattias Ekholm, Ryan Ellis, Seth Jones, Roman Josi, Kevin Klein and Shea Weber.

Goaltenders (2): Carter Hutton and Pekka Rinne.

Injured Reserve (1): Viktor Stalberg.

It is likely the odd man out up front will be either Rich Clune or Matt Hendricks due to it being unnecessary to have an overload of tough guys in the lineup. Yet again, it is the big, bad Blues though who can punish any team with their size. On defense, Mattias Ekholm will likely be the scratch since Victor Bartley gained experience in the second half of last season that will gain favor from head coach Barry Trotz.