Preds assign six players to Milwaukee; 27 players remain on roster

Monday morning, the Nashville Predators cut the roster down to twenty-seven players with the assignment of Patrick Cehlin, Joonas Jarvinen, Joonas Rask, Miikka Salomaki, Colton Sissons, and the most surprising, Austin Watson to Nashville's AHL affiliate — Milwaukee Admirals.

Watson is being sent to the Admirals a day after scoring a goal in the first home preseason game against the New York Islanders. However, due to the heavy competition between players this year, it is going to be challenging to make the team.

With Monday morning's cuts, here is what the training camp roster looks like now.

Sixteen forwards: Taylor Beck, Gabriel Bourque, Rich Clune, Matt Cullen, Mike Fisher, Filip Forsberg, Paul Gaustad, Matt Hendricks, Patric Hornqvist, David Legwand, Simon Moser, Eric Nystrom, Craig Smith, Nick Spaling, Viktor Stalberg, and Colin Wilson.

Eight defensemen: Victor Bartley, Mattias Ekholm, Ryan Ellis, Seth Jones, Roman Josi, Kevin Klein, Joe Piskula and Shea Weber.

Three goaltenders: Carter Hutton, Marek Mazanec and Pekka Rinne.

Likely, the next cuts will include goaltender Marek Mazanec and defenseman Joe Piskula. Simon Moser, on a pro tryout agreement, has surprisingly stuck around. The Swiss forward must be something the Preds want that not a lot of teams know about.